Recreational marijuana laws for users
Recreational marijuana use passed overwhelmingly under California Proposition 64 among voters in Nov. 2016. The law, which went into effect on Nov. 9, 2017, made it legal for people to use and grow marijuana. Recreational marijuana
Recreational marijuana use passed overwhelmingly under California Proposition 64 among voters in Nov. 2016. The law, which went into effect on Nov. 9, 2017, made it legal for people to use and grow marijuana.
Recreational marijuana laws strictly enforced; ignorance won’t impede jail time or fines
Recreational marijuana use passed overwhelmingly under California Proposition 64 among voters in Nov. 2016. The law, which went into effect on Nov. 9, 2017, made it legal for people to use and grow marijuana. How does this impact you today? Read below and find out more:
Consumers must be 21 years or older. Just like consuming alcohol, the minimum age is 21. Consumers can also possess up to an ounce of marijuana buds, which equates to 8 grams. To the cannabis beginner, this might seem like a small amount, but this is probably closer to the same amount of a pack of cigarettes.
California residents can grow up to 6 marijuana plants at home. The plants must be indoors or in enclosed structures. Some local governments can ban outdoor growth, so consumers must check with their city governments to see what they can legally grow and where it can be grown.
Consumers cannot smoke marijuana in public areas. They will be fined up to $250 for smoking marijuana in areas like parks, parking lots or anywhere smoking is banned.
Non-medical marijuana can be purchased and sold from stores like cigarette or vape shops. But there will be a licensing process for stores to legally sell weed. So, the sale of weed will not be sold in stores for a while.
Marijuana will be taxed with the normal state and local taxes, but there will also be an additional 15 percent excise tax. The average price per cigarette pack in California is about $9.77 per pack. This should give a good reference point on how much a pack of joints will cost.
Driving while under the influence of marijuana is handled the same way as driving under the influence of alcohol. Measures will be taken to determine if you are “high” and unfit to drive. The same punitive DUI measures will apply to those found guilty of driving under the influence of marijuana, so consumers should think twice before driving to the store for munchies.
If adults possess more than an ounce, or 8 grams, of marijuana they will be charged with a misdemeanor, a $500 fine, and up to 6 months in jail. The consequence is intense, but for smart consumers, this shouldn’t be a big deal.
With recreational marijuana now legalized, there are many questions for users to navigate. With the new freedoms come new regulations. Federal law still prohibits the use of marijuana, with the aim of targeting trafficking operations across state lines and the sale of marijuana on the black market and to children or minors. Bearing this in mind respecting a new law with many questions left to be legally sorted out, responsible use is expected and marijuana should be treated with respect and responsibility.
In a nutshell
Since November 2016, under Proposition 64, the legal recreational use of marijuana for adults over the age of 21, allows:
- Possess, plant, harvest, dry or process a maximum of six live plants and the cultivation of those plants in a private residence, in a locked area out of sight of public view, in compliance with all local ordinances
- Smoke or ingest marijuana
- Possess, transport, purchase, obtain, use, manufacture, or give away marijuana paraphernalia to people age 21 or older
- Smoke cannabis where tobacco is prohibited
- Possess, ingest or smoke within 1,000 ft of daycare, school, youth center while children are present (except within a private residence without children present in the room)
- Manufacture concentrated marijuana using volatile solvents without a license
- Possess an open container or marijuana paraphernalia while in the driver and/or passenger seat of a transport vehicle
- Smoke or ingest marijuana while operating a transport vehicle
- Smoke or ingest marijuana while riding in the passenger seat or vehicle compartment
Metropolis News Service.